Fact: 01 

The Citizenship Amendment Act (CAA) is a legislation that grants citizenship to persecuted minorities from Pakistan, Afghanistan, and Bangladesh.

Fact: 02 

The minorities included are Hindu, Sikh, Buddhist, Jain, Parsi, and Christian.

Fact: 03 

To be eligible for citizenship, applicants must have entered India by December 31, 2014 and resided in India for at least 11 years, with some exceptions.

Fact: 04

Muslims are not included in the CAA because they are not a minority in the specified countries.

Fact: 05 

The application process will be online and will require a declaration that the applicant will renounce their previous citizenship.

Fact: 06 

The CAA is not connected to the National Register of Citizens (NRC).

Fact: 07

The NRC is a database of Indian citizens.

Fact: 08 

The CAA has been controversial, with some arguing that it discriminates against Muslims.

Fact: 09 

The government has said that the CAA is necessary to protect persecuted minorities.

Fact: 10 

The CAA is currently being challenged in the Supreme Court.